Mastering BI and regulatory requirements

Financial institutions

Banking specific control systems like FinRep, Basel III and MaRisk are just as familiar to the experts at HMS as the latest technologies and methods for the analysis of large amounts of data. The synthesis of these competencies enables us to offer you a unique range of services from a single source.

With over 30 years of industry expertise in the banking market, HMS develops IT systems for the analysis of a wide variety of corporate data. From the conception phase to the implementation and adoption of comprehensive operating services, we provide you with needs-based support. The most important thing for you is that we understand the requirements of both the business and the IT side and translate these into sustainable solutions with a high degree of acceptance.

Our services

  • Rule-compliant business intelligence systems
  • SAS technologies (SAS Base, Platform, Viya)
  • Microsoft technologies (SQL Server, Power BI, Azure)
  • Open source (Python and R)
  • SAS systems in the Azure Cloud
  • Data quality management
  • Migration projects (e.g. z/OS to Unix/Linux)
  • Individual and standardised training courses

You can find further details under IT Systems, Business Intelligence and SAS.

Your benefit

Ready to face the future

The challenges in the financial sector are increasing at breakneck speed. Tighter legislation, technological innovation pressure and the emergence of new competitors with purely digital business models are forcing banks to reposition themselves. With tailor-made analysis systems from HMS, you can secure your future.

Tapping new sources of income

Changes in customer behaviour and the prolonged period of low interest rates are depriving traditional business models in the financial services sector of their foundations. Unlock new revenue streams with insights from your data.

Exploiting data potential

More than ever before, banks are now recognising the value of their data and IT systems as fundamental pillars of business innovation. After all, you can only survive in a highly dynamic market if you understand your customers and your own business situation. HMS ensures that your data is always up-to-date and that you have the right analysis tools.

“We work not only for our customers, but above all with our customers.” Klaus Kepert, Head of Financial Institutions at HMS

Practical experience/knowledge

HMS offers comprehensive SAS training packages for financial service providers. Apart from the necessary basics, these also take into account the highly individual specifics of practical use in day-to-day work. Attending a standard training course is often not enough when it comes to optimally using SAS software in the individual business environment. This is particularly true when regulatory requirements place special demands on the use of company data.

At HMS, all SAS accredited trainers also work as consultants. This allows them to keep a constant eye on the special features of the banking sector and to identify the requirements for target-oriented knowledge development. Our extensive range of standard training courses is supplemented by coaching packages in which the degree of individualisation can be flexibly adapted to the needs of our clients.

In this way, we train the exact functionalities that are necessary in daily practice. We are also happy to provide coaching based on data from the customer’s own banking environment.

By further developing and modernising SAS systems at all working levels, HMS was able to bring a financial company up to the very latest technical standards. Across a range of different operating systems, this involved more than simply migrating the SAS environment. Central parameters such as performance, data quality or regulatory requirements were also scrutinised and optimised in close cooperation with the customer.

Project background: BI systems from financial service providers that are embedded in existing IT architectures sometimes have to be migrated and, in the process, often reinvented. This can involve anything and everything from new operating systems, data sources and regulatory requirements, to the simple installation of a new version of the SAS software. From concept phase to implementation, we accompany the deployment of new software packages, the adaptation of authorisation concepts, the transfer of data and finally comprehensive and comprehensible documentation of processes and environments.

HMS designed the systems that provide security for a fully licensed bank. Not only do they consistently supply the bank with the data required for risk analyses; they also reliably integrate the algorithms specified by the bank’s analysts into the calculation kernel. They also ensure regular and complete output. And, of course, they are sufficiently flexible to adapt to the prevailing regulations.

It is not only since Basel III that banks have been obliged to reliably calculate risk capital costs. In addition to the precise calculation of risks, the necessary software systems must also be flexible enough to keep pace with the constantly changing requirements placed on fully licensed banks.

HMS developed an operational system for a credit institution that reliably and consistently transmits credit information to the German Bundesbank. After all, billions of euros are at stake. If a bank wants to increase its credit line, the pledging of loans to the Deutsche Bundesbank is a tried and tested method. A not inconsiderable percentage of the pledged loans flow back to the bank as a credit line. This is where increased security is needed.

The technological environment on the mainframe is SAS – powerful, but also highly complex. HMS programmed operative applications that contain consistency checks (quality, reconciliation) in addition to the data flow of credit information and enable clear reporting via the SAS portal. The result is reliable information transfer between the bank and the German Bundesbank

HMS develops tailor-made business intelligence solutions for substantiated company reporting. To do this, the HMS experts define precisely tailored development steps. They consistently consolidate all relevant data, taking into account data quality and data access performance. The solution is then integrated into the customer’s existing system landscape in a future-proof manner. User-friendly outputs in the form of standard reports, dashboards or self-service services can be called up at any time. Users also receive comprehensive system documentation. All this takes place in close dialogue with the customer’s project participants and the software vendors involved.

“There can only be one truth” – this observation is particularly relevant in the IT sector when it comes to gathering and disseminating data for controlling the company. However, in the reality of many companies, reporting often reflects several truths. Isolated data streams, manual interventions in the reporting system or different times of extraction of source data: these are only three aspects from a multitude of arguments for HMS’s company-wide, future-proof and consistent business intelligence systems. It goes without saying that we provide comprehensive training for users, as well as offering ongoing maintenance and further development of the solution.

What you can count on at HMS

Industry expertise since 1989

Thanks to our many years of experience in business intelligence and data analysis for the financial sector, we are just as familiar with banking terminology as we are with industry-specific processes and procedures. You can rely on us to provide you with the support you need.

State-of-the-art

…not slave-of-the-hype. Our experts are always at the cutting edge of technology and methodology, without following every trend. Diverse training courses and advanced further studies guarantee the latest knowledge at all times.

Vendor independent

We cooperate with leading technology providers, but we make independent recommendations. Because only through a vendor-independent approach can we advise you in the best possible way. We are open to the use of a wide variety of solutions.

Contact person for the Financial Institutions area

We’re always there for you!

Klaus Kepert
Head of Financial Institutions (authorised signatory)
Dipl. computer scientist

BI und regulatorische Anforderungen meistern

Financial Institutions

Bankenspezifische Regelsysteme wie FinRep, Basel III und MaRisk sind den Experten von HMS ebenso vertraut wie neueste Technologien und Methoden zur Analyse von großen Datenmengen. Durch die Synthese dieser Kompetenzen bieten wir Ihnen ein einzigartiges Leistungsspektrum aus einer Hand.

Mit über 30 Jahren Branchenkompetenz im Bankenmarkt entwickelt HMS IT-Systeme für die Analyse unterschiedlichster Unternehmensdaten. Von der Konzeptionsphase bis zur Umsetzung und Übernahme umfassender Betriebsservices unterstützen wir Sie bedarfsgerecht. Das Wichtigste dabei für Sie: Wir verstehen die Anforderungen sowohl der Business- als auch der IT-Seite und übersetzen diese in tragfähige Lösungen von hoher Akzeptanz.

Unsere Services

  • Regelkonforme Business-Intelligence-Systeme
  • SAS-Technologien (SAS Base, Platform, Viya)
  • Microsoft-Technologien (SQL Server, Power BI, Azure)
  • Open Source (Python und R)
  • SAS-Systeme in der Azure Cloud
  • Data Quality Management
  • Migrationsprojekte (z.B. z/OS nach Unix/Linux)
  • Individuelle und standardisierte Schulungen

Weitere Details finden Sie unter IT-Systeme, Business Intelligence und SAS.

Ihr Benefit

Gerüstet sein für die Zukunft

Die Herausforderungen im Finanzsektor nehmen in rasantem Tempo zu. Verschärfte Gesetzgebung, technologischer Innovationsdruck und das Aufkommen von neuen Wettbewerbern mit rein digitalen Geschäftsmodellen zwingen Banken, sich neu aufzustellen. Mit maßgeschneiderten Analyse-Systemen von HMS sichern Sie Ihre Zukunft.

Neue Ertragsquellen erschließen

Verändertes Kundenverhalten und die dauerhafte Niedrigzinsphase entziehen traditionellen Geschäftsmodellen im Bereich Finanzdienstleistungen das Fundament. Erschließen Sie neue Ertragsquellen durch Erkenntnisse aus Ihren Daten.

Datenpotential nutzen

Banken erkennen in dieser Zeit mehr denn je den Wert ihrer Daten und IT-Systeme als elementare Säulen für Geschäftsinnovationen. Denn nur wer seine Kunden und seinen eigenen Unternehmenszustand versteht, kann dauerhaft bestehen in einem hochdynamischen Markt. HMS sorgt für die jederzeit aktuelle Datenbasis und die geeigneten Analyse-Tools.

„Wir arbeiten nicht nur für unsere Kunden, sondern vor allem mit unseren Kunden zusammen.“ Klaus Kepert, HMS Bereichsleiter

Aus der Praxis

HMS bietet umfassende SAS-Trainingspakete für Finanzdienstleister. Neben den notwendigen Grundlagen berücksichtigen diese auch die hochindividuellen Spezifika des Praxiseinsatzes in der täglichen Arbeit. Denn der Besuch einer Standardschulung reicht oftmals nicht aus, wenn es darum geht, SAS-Software in der individuellen Geschäftsumgebung optimal nutzen zu können. Dieser Umstand kommt vor allem dann zum Tragen, wenn regulatorische Vorgaben besondere Anforderungen an die Nutzung von Unternehmensdaten stellen.

Bei HMS arbeiten alle von SAS akkreditierten Trainer auch als Consultants. Dadurch haben sie die Besonderheiten der Bankenbranche stets im Blick und erkennen so die Anforderungen an einen zielgerichteten Wissensaufbau. Wir komplettieren unser weitreichendes Angebot an Standardschulungen um Coachings, deren Individualisierungsgrad flexibel an die Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden angepasst werden kann.

So werden genau die Funktionalitäten geschult, die in der täglichen Praxis notwendig sind. Gerne coachen wir auch auf Basis von Daten aus dem kundeneigenen Bankenumfeld.

Mit der Weiterentwicklung und Modernisierung von SAS-Systemen auf allen Arbeitsebenen hat HMS ein Finanzunternehmen auf den technisch neusten Stand gebracht. Unabhängig von den jeweiligen Betriebssystemen wurde dabei nicht nur die SAS-Umgebung migriert. Auch zentrale Parameter wie Performance, Datenqualität oder regulatorische Anforderungen wurden auf den Prüfstand gestellt und in enger Abstimmung mit dem Kunden optimiert.

Der Hintergrund: BI-Systeme von Finanzdienstleistern, die in bestehende IT-Architekturen eingebettet sind, müssen bisweilen migriert und dabei oftmals neu erfunden werden. Ob es sich nun um neue Betriebssysteme handelt, neue Datenquellen, neue regulatorische Anforderungen oder auch nur eine neue Version der SAS-Software. Das Deployment neuer Software-Pakete, die Anpassung von Berechtigungskonzepten, der Transfer von Daten und letztendlich eine umfassende und nachvollziehbare Dokumentation der Prozesse und Umgebungen – all das begleiten wir von der Konzeptphase bis zur Umsetzung.

 

HMS entwirft Systeme, die einer Vollbank Sicherheit bringen: Sie versorgen die Bank nicht nur konsistent mit den für die Risikoanalysen notwendigen Daten, sie integrieren auch die von den Bankanalysten vorgegebenen Algorithmen zuverlässig in den Rechenkern. Dabei gewährleisten sie einen regelmäßigen und vollständigen Output. Und selbstverständlich verfügen sie über genügend Flexibilität, um sich den vorgegebenen Regularien anzupassen.

Denn nicht erst seit Basel III sind Banken dazu verpflichtet, Risikokapitalkosten verlässlich zu berechnen. Die dazu notwendigen Software-Systeme müssen dabei – neben der exakten Berechnung von Risiken – auch flexibel genug sein, um mit den ständig wechselnden Anforderungen an Vollbanken Schritt halten zu können.

 

 

Für ein Kredithaus hat HMS ein operatives System entwickelt, das Kreditinformationen zuverlässig und konsistent an die Bundesbank übermittelt. Denn es geht um Milliarden: Will eine Bank ihre Kreditlinie erhöhen, ist die Kreditverpfändung an die Deutsche Bundesbank ein probates Mittel. Ein nicht unerheblicher Prozentsatz der verpfändeten Kredite fließt als Kreditlinie zurück zur Bank. Hier ist erhöhte Sicherheit gefragt.

Das technologische Umfeld ist SAS auf dem Großrechner – mächtig, aber auch mächtig komplex. HMS programmiert operative Anwendungen, die neben dem Datenfluss der Kreditinformationen auch Konsistenzprüfungen (Qualität, Abgleich) enthalten und ein übersichtliches Reporting per SAS-Portal ermöglichen.  Das Ergebnis: Ein zuverlässiger Informationstransfer zwischen Bank und Bundesbank.

Für ein fundiertes Unternehmens-Reporting entwickelt HMS maßgeschneiderte Business-Intelligence-Lösungen. Dafür definieren die HMS Experten passgenaue Entwicklungsschritte. Sie führen alle relevanten Daten konsistent zusammen und berücksichtigen dabei die Datenqualität und die Performanz des Datenzugriffs. Die Lösung wird zukunftssicher in die bestehende Systemlandschaft des Kunden integriert. Benutzerfreundliche Ausgaben in Form von Standardreports, Dashboards oder Self-Service-Diensten sind jederzeit abrufbar. Zudem erhalten die Anwender eine umfassende Dokumentation des Systems. All dies geschieht in engem Dialog mit den Projektbeteiligten des Kunden und der eingebundenen Software-Hersteller.

„Es kann nur eine Wahrheit geben“ – diese Feststellung wird im IT-Bereich vor allem dann relevant, wenn Maßzahlen zur Steuerung des Unternehmens erhoben und kommuniziert werden sollen. Jedoch spiegelt das Reporting in der Realität vieler Unternehmen oftmals mehrere Wahrheiten wider. Isolierte Datenströme, manuelle Eingriffe in das Berichtswesen oder unterschiedliche Zeitpunkte des Abzugs von Quelldaten – dies sind nur drei Aspekte aus einer Vielzahl an Argumenten für die unternehmensweiten, zukunftssicheren und konsistenten Business-Intelligence-Systeme von HMS. Dass wir Anwender umfassend schulen, ist für uns ebenso selbstverständlich wie das Angebot, die Lösung fortlaufend zu warten und weiterzuentwickeln.

Darauf können Sie bei HMS bauen

Branchenkompetenz seit 1989

Durch unsere langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich Business Intelligence und Datenanalyse für den Finanzsektor sind wir mit der bankfachlichen Terminologie ebenso vertraut wie mit den branchenspezifischen Prozessen und Abläufen. Sie können sich darauf verlassen, dass wir Sie bedarfsgerecht unterstützen.

State-of-the-Art

… nicht Slave-of-the-Hype: Unsere Experten sind immer auf dem neuesten Stand der Technik und Methodik, ohne jedem Trend hinterherzulaufen. Vielfältige Schulungen und Fortbildungen gewährleisten jederzeit aktuellstes Wissen.

Herstellerunabhängig

Wir kooperieren mit führenden Technologie-Anbietern, geben aber unabhängige Empfehlungen. Denn nur durch eine herstellerunabhängige Herangehensweise können wir Sie bestmöglich beraten. Wir sind offen für den Einsatz unterschiedlichster Lösungen.

Ansprechpartner für den Bereich Financial Institutions

Immer für Sie da!

Klaus Kepert
Bereichsleiter Financial Institutions (Prokurist)
Dipl. Informatiker