Getting to grips with digital transformation

Enterprise analytical systems

Rapid technological development means that many things today can be digitised: interactions with customers, movements of goods, the status of technical processes and much more. But new, data-based business models are not ready-made – they are as distinctive as your company itself.

How can data analysis be profitably embedded in business processes? How do we get there? Which algorithms do we need? How do we design systems? How do we comply with data protection rules? There are numerous individual questions that cannot be resolved with standardised answers. Our experts at HMS will advise you comprehensively and accompany you from the first to the last step.

Our services

  • Individual workshops as a kick-off for digitisation projects
  • Evaluation of digital business models using rapid prototyping in the cloud
  • Consulting, development and operation – from specialised computing kernels to enterprise-wide data analysis platforms
  • Migration to the (hybrid) cloud
  • Standardised solution approaches according to best practice examples
    • Remote patient monitoring
    • Data trust model for the cloud
  • Implementation through the latest methods of software engineering
  • Project management using classic and agile process models

Our toolbox

  • Platforms: Azure Cloud, Hybrid, On Premises Microsoft Technologies (SQL Server, SharePoint)
  • Databases: relational, document-oriented, graph-oriented, NoSQL, etc.
  • Big Data stores: e.g. DataLakes, Hadoop
  • BI technologies: e.g. DWHs, data integration, semantic modelling, reporting
  • Object-oriented programming, scripting languages, programming in statistical environments
  • App and web development
  • Application lifecycle management and DevOps
  • Software craftsmanship and clean code

 

You can find further details under Expertise Software Engineering.

“Every company has a unique data landscape. We open up ways to profitably exploit it.” Johannes Schluchter, Head of Enterprise Analytical Systems at HMS

Practical experience/knowledge

HMS has provided financial analysts with an end-to-end solution that enables standard reports and ad hoc queries to be easily produced and delivered in high quality.

Project background: Regulatory authorities for financial service providers – as well as research institutes – are endeavouring to generate more detailed information from basic economic data. This information must be suitable for identifying meaningful trends.

During the development of the solution, the analytical methods were just one link in the chain. The HMS experts first had to consolidate the decentralised available data and prepare the results in a user-friendly way. To enable them to use economic data from a variety of sources, they developed suitable connectors that not only access the data but also convert it into a uniform format. A seamless interface now ensures that analysts can conveniently use the available methods, such as complex time series analyses. The key feature is that the analysis results can be directly issued as publishable reports and documented in tabular, graphical or textual form.

HMS has already developed analytical platforms for a number of life science companies. These platforms are characterised by central authorisation and storage concepts as well as a user-friendly interface. Authorised users can access algorithms and results at the touch of a button. The history of data and analyses can be traced at any time. Moreover, browser-oriented access to the system’s central administration guarantees secure and sustainable further processing in a validated IT environment.

When setting up analytical platforms, it is particularly important to take into account the regulated environment. After all, these platforms deal with critical tasks as important as the development of medical devices or quality assurance. The HMS platform has enabled the developers of algorithms and their users to concentrate more on their core task: the development of highly complex analyses for use in research and production.

HMS developed an effective end-to-end research solution for a financial institution. This enables users to follow the path from the initial question asked in a study to the analysable database in a highly automated and consistent manner. The system manages the design of the necessary data model as well as the systematics of the questionnaire itself. Both the distribution and the feedback of the answers are part of the solution. And of course, plausibility checks are on file to ensure a high-quality database.

Studies are currently in vogue. Not only in regulatory environments such as the development of drugs or medical devices, but also in all other areas of business and society, findings from studies and surveys are increasingly being used to answer strategic questions. To obtain insights quickly and without errors, the IT processes required to conduct a survey need to mesh seamlessly and as many process steps as possible should be made reusable. With the help of the HMS solution, the institution can now design and carry out its studies in a consistent process and operate much more efficiently thanks to the generic approach of the system.

HMS developed an efficient control system for the central administration of resources and budgets for research and development projects in the life science sector. The previous management system had proved to be complex, non-transparent and extremely error-prone due to a high degree of manual intervention. The primary goal for the HMS experts was to design and programme a solution that was significantly more efficient and, above all, much more user friendly than the previous system. To this end, several technologies were seamlessly linked to form a consistent planning tool.

Automated data flows from various sources formed part of the solution, as did user-friendly GUIs for the rights-based editing of data or tools for the issuing of reports. The degree of automation of the project organisation grew with the solution in the proportion that daily work was made easier. The result was improved project organisation, more transparent reports and increased user satisfaction.

HMS has developed web applications that enable users in the life science industry to access data on consumables batches. In this case, it was possible to release test strip batches many times faster – in just a few minutes instead of several days. Naturally, all required safety standards were strictly adhered to.

Project background: Many diagnostic medical devices require consumables if they are to achieve the desired benefit. For example, blood glucose meters use test strips to determine blood coagulation values. In this context, close synchronisation between the end device and the consumable is literally a matter of life and death. Each production batch needs to be precisely calibrated to meet the high regulatory standards for medical devices.

To ensure that the approval processes required in production and further development can be carried out efficiently, medical device manufacturers need high-performance and validated analysis systems. Thanks to the deep understanding our experts have of the industry’s requirements and data structures, coupled with their wide-ranging technical know-how, we are able to further optimise the application of high-quality medical devices in practice.

What you can count on at HMS

30 years of enterprise analytics

We have over 30 years of experience in implementing individual, enterprise-wide data analysis systems. You can rely on us to provide precisely the support you need.

Individual solutions

We cooperate with leading technology providers, but we make independent recommendations. Because only through a vendor-independent approach can we advise you in the best possible way. We are open to the use of a wide variety of solutions.

Comprehensive support

HMS brings you an end-to-end approach: from potentials analysis to the operationalisation of BI and analytics, we never lose sight of aspects such as software quality and maintainability.

Your contact person

We’re always there for you!

Johannes Schluchter
Head of Enterprise Analytical Systems
Dipl. computer scientist

Die digitale Transformation anpacken

Enterprise Analytical Systems

Durch die rasante technische Entwicklung ist heute vieles digitalisierbar geworden: Interaktionen mit Kunden, Bewegungen von Gütern, Zustände von technischen Prozessen und vieles mehr. Doch neue, datenbasierte Geschäftsmodelle gibt es nicht von der Stange – sie sind so unverwechselbar wie Ihr Unternehmen selbst.

Wie lässt sich die Datenanalyse gewinnbringend in Geschäftsprozesse einbetten? Wie kommen wir dorthin? Welche Algorithmen brauchen wir? Wie gestalten wir Systeme? Wie halten wir die Regeln zum Datenschutz ein? Es ergibt sich eine Vielzahl individueller Fragestellungen, die nicht mit standardisierten Antworten zu klären sind. Die Experten von HMS beraten Sie umfassend und begleiten Sie vom ersten bis zum letzten Schritt.

Unsere Services

  • Individuelle Workshops als Anschub für Digitalisierungsprojekte
  • Evaluierung digitaler Geschäftsmodelle mittels Rapid Prototyping in der Cloud
  • Beratung, Entwicklung und Betrieb – vom spezialisierten Rechenkern bis zur unternehmensweiten Datenanalyseplattform
  • Migration in die (hybride) Cloud
  • Standardisierte Lösungsansätze nach Best Practices
    • Remote Patient Monitoring
    • Datentreuhandmodell für die Cloud
  • Umsetzung durch neueste Methoden des Software-Engineerings
  • Projektsteuerung nach klassischen und agilen Vorgehensmodellen

Unser Werkzeugkasten

  • Plattformen: Azure Cloud, Hybrid, On Premises Microsoft-Technologien (SQL Server, SharePoint)
  • Datenbanken: u.a. relational, dokumentenorientiert, graphenorientiert, NoSQL
  • Big Data Stores: z.B. DataLakes, Hadoop
  • BI-Technologien: z.B. DWHs, Datenintegration, semantische Modellierung, Reporting
  • Objektorientierte Programmierung, Skriptsprachen, Programmierung in statistischen Programmierumgebungen
  • App- und Webentwicklung
  • Application Lifecycle Management und DevOps
  • Software Craftsmanship und Clean Code

Weitere Details finden Sie unter Expertise Software Engineering.

„Jedes Unternehmen hat eine einzigartige Datenlandschaft. Wir eröffnen Wege, diese gewinnbringend zu bewirtschaften.“ Johannes Schluchter, HMS Bereichsleiter

Aus der Praxis

HMS hat Finanzanalysten eine End-to-End-Lösung an die Hand gegeben, mit deren Hilfe Standardberichte und ad-hoc-Anfragen bequem und hochwertig angefertigt werden können. Der Hintergrund: Regulierungsbehörden für Finanzdienstleister – ebenso wie Forschungsinstitute – streben danach, aus ökonomischen Basisdaten weiterführende Informationen zu generieren. Diese müssen geeignet sein, aussagekräftige Trends zu identifizieren.

Bei der Entwicklung der Lösung waren die analytischen Methoden nur ein Glied in der Kette: Die HMS Experten mussten die dezentral vorliegenden Daten zunächst konsolidieren und die Ergebnisse anwendergerecht aufbereiten. Damit sie die ökonomischen Daten aus unterschiedlichsten Quellen nutzen konnten, entwickelten sie passende Konnektoren, die nicht nur den Datenzugriff, sondern auch die Konvertierung in ein einheitliches Format bewerkstelligen. Eine durchgängige Oberfläche sorgt nun dafür, dass Analysten die zur Verfügung stehenden Methoden (wie z.B. komplexe Zeitreihenanalysen) bequem anwenden können. Der Clou: Ob in tabellarischer, graphischer oder textlicher Form – die Analyseergebnisse können direkt als publizierbare Berichte ausgegeben und dokumentiert werden.

Bereits für eine Reihe von Life-Science-Unternehmen hat HMS analytische Plattformen entwickelt. Diese zeichnen sich durch zentrale Berechtigungs- und Ablagekonzepte sowie eine benutzerfreundliche Oberfläche aus. Auf Knopfdruck stehen dem berechtigen User Algorithmen und Resultate zur Verfügung. Die Historie der Daten und Analysen ist jederzeit nachvollziehbar. Und der browserorientierte Zugriff auf die zentrale Administration des Systems gewährleistet eine sichere und nachhaltige Weiterentwicklung in einem validierten IT-Umfeld.

Beim Aufbau der analytischen Plattformen gilt es insbesondere, das regulierte Umfeld zu berücksichtigen. Schließlich dreht es sich dort um so kritische Aufgaben wie die Entwicklung von Medizingeräten oder um die Qualitätssicherung. Durch die HMS Plattform konnten sich die Entwickler von Algorithmen und deren Nutzer wieder auf ihre Kernaufgabe konzentrieren: die Entwicklung hochkomplexer Analysen zum Einsatz in Forschung und Produktion.

HMS hat für ein Finanzinstitut eine wirkungsvolle End-to-End-Lösung für Studien entwickelt. Diese ermöglicht es Anwendern, den Weg von der initialen Fragestellung einer Studie bis hin zur auswertbaren Datenbasis hochautomatisiert und durchgängig gehen zu können. Das System bewerkstelligt das Design des notwendigen Datenmodells ebenso wie die Systematik des Fragebogens selbst. Sowohl die Verteilung als auch das Rückspielen der Antworten sind Teil der Lösung. Und selbstverständlich sind Plausibilitätsprüfungen hinterlegt, die für eine qualitativ hochwertige Datenbasis sorgen.

Studien liegen im Trend: Nicht nur in regulatorischen Umfeldern wie der Entwicklung von Medikamenten oder Medizingeräten, sondern auch in allen anderen Bereichen von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft werden Erkenntnisse aus Studien und Umfragen vermehrt zur Beantwortung strategischer Fragestellungen herangezogen. Um schnell und fehlerfrei zu Erkenntnissen zu kommen, müssen die zur Durchführung einer Umfrage notwendigen IT-Prozesse nahtlos ineinander greifen und möglichst viele Prozessschritte wiederverwertbar gemacht werden. Mit Hilfe der HMS Lösung kann die Einrichtung seine Studien nun in einem durchgängigen Prozess designen, durchführen und durch den generischen Ansatz des Systems deutlich effizienter agieren.

Für die zentrale Verwaltung der Ressourcen und Budgets von Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten im Life-Science-Sektor hat HMS ein effizientes Steuerungssystem entwickelt. Das bisherige Verwaltungssystem hatte sich als komplex, intransparent und – durch einen hohen Grad an manuellen Eingriffsmöglichkeiten – ausgesprochen fehleranfällig erwiesen. Oberstes Ziel für die HMS-Experten war es darum, eine Lösung zu konzipieren und zu programmieren, die deutlich effizienter und vor allem deutlich anwenderfreundlicher als das Vorgängersystem war. Zu diesem Zweck wurden mehrere Technologien nahtlos miteinander zu einem konsistenten Planungstool verknüpft.

Automatisierte Datenflüsse aus verschiedensten Datenquellen waren ebenso Teil der Lösung wie benutzerfreundliche GUIs zum rechtegesteuerten Editieren von Daten oder Tools zur Ausgabe beziehungsweise Verteilung von Reports. Der Automatisierungsgrad der Projektorganisation wuchs durch die Lösung im selben Maße wie die tägliche Arbeit erleichtert wurde. Das Ergebnis: Bessere Projektorganisation, transparentere Berichte und höhere Anwenderzufriedenheit.

HMS hat Web-Applikationen entwickelt, die den Anwendern in der Life-Science-Branche den Zugriff auf Daten von Verbrauchschargen ermöglicht. In diesem Fall konnten Teststreifen-Chargen um ein Vielfaches schneller freigegeben werden – statt in mehreren Tagen in wenigen Minuten. Selbstverständlich immer unter Einhaltung aller erforderlichen Sicherheitsstandards.

Der Hintergrund: Zahlreiche diagnostische Medizingeräte benötigen Verbrauchsmaterialien, um den gewünschten Nutzen zu erzielen. So benötigen beispielsweise Blutzuckermessgeräte Teststreifen zur Bestimmung von Blutgerinnungswerten. Die enge Synchronisation zwischen Endgerät und Verbrauchsmaterial ist dabei sprichwörtlich lebensnotwendig: Jede Produktionscharge muss detailliert kalibriert werden, um den hohen regulatorischen Standards an medizinische Geräte genügen zu können.

Damit die in Produktion und Weiterentwicklung notwendigen Freigabeprozesse effizient durchgeführt werden können, benötigen Medizingerätehersteller performante und validierte Analysesysteme. Durch das tiefe Verständnis unserer Experten für die Anforderungen und Datenstrukturen der Branche, gepaart mit einem breiten technischen Know-how, können wir den Praxiseinsatz qualitativ hochwertiger Medizingeräte noch weiter optimieren.

Darauf können Sie bei HMS bauen

30 Jahre Enterprise Analytics

Wir haben über 30 Jahre Erfahrung in der Implementierung individueller, unternehmensweiter Datenanalysesysteme. Sie können sich darauf verlassen, dass wir Sie bedarfsgerecht unterstützen.

Individuelle Lösungen

Wir kooperieren mit führenden Technologie-Anbietern, geben aber unabhängige Empfehlungen. Denn nur durch eine herstellerunabhängige Herangehensweise können wir Sie bestmöglich beraten. Wir sind offen für den Einsatz unterschiedlichster Lösungen.

Rundum Support

HMS bietet Ihnen einen End-to-End-Ansatz: Von der Potentialanalyse bis hin zur Operationalisierung von BI und Analytics verlieren wir Aspekte wie Softwarequalität und Wartbarkeit nie aus den Augen.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Immer für Sie da!

Johannes Schluchter
Bereichsleiter Enterprise Analytical Systems
Dipl. Informatiker